Standing Fate on its Head

I gained a lot from reading this and wanted it here so I could revisit it again whenever I need to. I studied some of this at Uni and it still rings true 20 years later. I thought others may benefit from seeing Tony’s post.

Posts of Hypnotic Suggestion

So there I was, complimenting a work colleague as you do, (or perhaps don’t depending on where you work I suppose), as part of the feedback I was giving and encouraging him to think about where he could use similar verbal communication techniques to maximum effect.

Obviously, in an effort to ensure that all relevant future-scuppering spirits were appropriately warded off by my apparent blasphemy at actually telling him he was good at something, (which he really was by the way), he spake unto me thusly: ‘Oh now you’re tempting fate! It’ll never go like that again’. He paused for a moment. ‘Mind you, if I pretend you never said it, maybe I’ll get away with it. Touch wood.’

Now I could ramble on here about the origins of wood touching and fate tempting but that’s not really the point. Habits are habits and depend an insanely large amount on…

View original post 2,008 more words

One thought on “Standing Fate on its Head

Care to share some love?

