Top 10 Tips to Help Children Love Reading

reading

My children love books and they love reading.

This Top 10 list looks at what parents can do to foster a love of reading from birth. The right start can make all the difference.

  1. Start reading with babies right from birth. Get comfortable and read aloud every day for 10-15 minutes. This will help develop a routine for reading enjoyment.
  2. Read several different books at times throughout the day or the same book multiple times. Hearing a thousand stories will help a child begin to learn to read.
  3. Use your eyes, voice and body to bring a story to life. Using a flat, monotone voice will not convey your excitement.
  4. Read the same stories time and time again. Use the same pattern or rhythm each time. In time, children will be able to retell the story to you.
  5. Interaction with the story is key. Look at and talk about pictures, connect the story to a rhyme or song and answer any questions children ask. A book does not need to be read cover to cover without stopping to enjoy the pages within.
  6. Point to words, pick out letters, think of rhyming words when reading. Whatever you do should be fun and not remotely resemble teaching.
  7. Use the three R’s when choosing books for young children. Rhythm, rhyme and repetition are an awesome combination.
  8.  Read aloud to kids even when they can read themselves. Tell stories, make up stories together or sing nonsense rhymes-all of which are language-rich activities.
  9. Be a good reading role model. Read books, newspapers or magazines for enjoyment.
  10. Read, read, read, read and read.

I love reading. My kids love reading too. Whether that is inherent or not, I have no way of knowing. I do know that I have read with my children right from birth. Over the past 6 years I have read thousands of books to Almost 6 and Just 3.

I am a mum who loves to read. My teaching career has spanned nearly two decades during which time I have had the privilege of reading thousands of stories. I majored in children’s literature and I write picture books for fun in my spare time. This top 10 is by no means exhaustive. There is so much you can do with your children and a good book. If you have a book but no child, borrow one from a friend or relative. Reading with a child is magic and they’re the most captive audience you’ll ever have.

♥ Kelly

Image from: here.

30 thoughts on “Top 10 Tips to Help Children Love Reading

  1. I read an article in a Parents Magazine before Jordan was born that stated to keep lots of books around the house – I did just that. I had most of my books from when I was a kid and I joined a few book clubs. My son had a bookcase of books before he was 1 years old. the funny thing is he seemed more interested in the entertainment section of the news paper! He was reading by the time he was 2 1/2. He still reads the movie section of the Tribune:)

  2. Wow! This is amazing! Thank you so much for sharing these amazing tips to us! It’s very rare to see kids who love books and reading that’s why I am very much impressed! You are an awesome mom and I am sure that your kids will grow up with brilliant minds. 🙂

  3. Pingback: How to Teach Your Kids to Love Reading

    • Heartfelt thanks for linking to my post on reading. I trust your readers will gain some useful information from reading the tips. It is such an important skill for life.

  4. Pingback: 10 Activities for Three and Four-Month-Olds | thelittledabbler

  5. Pingback: Book Recommendations (Newborn) | thelittledabbler

  6. Great post! I wrote a series of posts on the importance of reading to young children. I also made some book recommendations for infants. I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to put a link in those posts to this article. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Book Recommendations (0-4 Months Old) | thelittledabbler

  8. Pingback: Choosing the Right Books for Infants (0-6 Months Old) | thelittledabbler

  9. Pingback: Language Development: Major Dos and Don’ts of Reading With Baby | thelittledabbler

  10. Pingback: Choosing the Right Books for Babies (0-18 Months Old) | thelittledabbler

  11. Pingback: Book Recommendations (0-4 Months Old) | thelittledabbler

  12. Pingback: Book Recommendations (Newborn) | thelittledabbler

  13. Pingback: Book Recommendations (10-18 Months Old) / thelittledabbler

  14. Pingback: Teaching the Alphabet to Toddlers (in 7 Simple Steps) / thelittledabbler

  15. Pingback: Teaching the Alphabet to Toddlers (in 7 Simple Steps) |

  16. Pingback: Book Recommendations (10-18 Months Old) |

  17. Pingback: Choosing the Right Books for Babies (0-18 Months Old) |

  18. Pingback: Book Recommendations (0-9 Months Old) |

  19. Pingback: Reading Is Key to Language Development / thelittledabbler

  20. Pingback: When Teachers Hold Us Back / thelittledabbler

Care to share some love?

