Love the Logic of Kids

I love a logical connection.logic

Ok folks it’s Monday and I’m not one that likes to exist in a maudlin state. So I’m going to be seeking out the humour to bring you at the beginning of each week. My hope is to leave you smiling on Momdaze. Some will feature from the mouths of my own lovelies, some will be stolen from work and others pilfered from the public at large.

Some people read magazines at the supermarket checkout. I love observing and listening to snippets of people’s lives. Call it eavesdropping or whatever else you may. I refer to it as express lane escapism.

Recently I overheard a conversation between a mum, and what I assumed to be, her son. He would have been between 3 and 4. It went a little something like this:

‘Mum, vegetable oil comes from vegetables doesn’t it?’

‘Yes, they take the oil from lots of vegetables and put it into bottles.’

‘So peanut oil would come from peanuts?’

‘Yes, that’s right.’ (Mum looks pretty proud of her son).

‘And so that means orange oil is squeezed from oranges and olive oil is made from olives?’

‘Uh-huh.’

At this point child begins to cry with such instant force that he attracts the attention of not only his mum. Once he’s in his mother’s reassuring arms he begins to calm enough to ask between sobs, ‘So that means they squeeze all the oil out of babies to make baby oil?’

Image from: here.

28 thoughts on “Love the Logic of Kids

  1. Lol. Just recently when my elder son found out that babies were born head first he looked at me in horror and said, “They come out in pieces???!!”. Thanks for the laugh.

  2. that is such a cute bit! my younger son used to think that only girls had long hair (Jordy was 1 1/2 years old) -when we moved from Ohio to Chicago, we had a moving company move our furniture – one of the guys had a pony tail. i cannot remember what we were talking about but i was discussing something when my son referred to him as a guy-girl! Yikes – i was so embarrassed and the guy was not too amused. I apologized and explained to the dude that my son was only 1 1/2 and even pointed to my pony tail to help him understand why my son made a reference as such. he still was not amused. It was interesting!

  3. Oh bless the poor little soul! It breaks their hearts doesn’t it. And how exactly do you explain the ingredients of baby oil!! That eavesdropping thing you do is quite sneaky but I am going to try it – if child free or if they happen to be quiet…. I am reasonably sure others don’t need to strain their ears to observe me and mine at the supermarket!

    • Yes, I felt for them both equally. The boy for being so upset and for the mum who had to try and explain away his fear.
      Me, sneaky? Ok maybe just a bit! I need funny material for Mondays and what happens in my house isn’t funny-at least not to me.
      Mine aren’t quiet either. You can hear mine coming from the car park.

Care to share some love?

