A Blanket of Love For You

blankieI love that you love your blankie.

What is it about a blanket that gives comfort and makes one feel safe?

For many it doesn’t end in childhood either. The ‘security’ blanket can last far longer than that.

Both of my sons are blankie boys. They’ve both had their favourite since they were old enough to communicate that they’d prefer a certain one.

I don’t think it’s a colour or pattern decision. For my two I think it’s a textural or tactile thing. The feel of the blankie was how they made their choice.

My youngest has dragged his behind him when he gets out of bed as part of his morning ritual for well over two years. Only recently has he stopped running his blanket through thumb and index finger along the satin edging. He’d reach the corner then continue along the next side like he was doing laps of a racetrack. It wasn’t too long ago either that he agreed to relinquish his blanket to the hollows of the washing machine. Prior to that I’d try to sneak it out of his room, in the wash, out on the line and then back on the bed without him noticing. This was rarely successful.

I often tuck in the eldest only to find him cocooned in his blanket with the quilt at the foot of the bed. He still requests the same blanket on his bed throughout the summer and when there is a seemingly unlimited choice of size, colour and textures sitting in the cupboard. These blankets are still worthy though. They get put through thair paces being used to build blanket forts and indoor cubbies. They really get put to the test when the kids are unwell and reinforcements are called upon.

I contemplate what age they might be before the blankie meets his mates at the back of the linen cupboard. The only other alternative is that the beloved blanket starts to fall apart at the seams from being well and truly loved to death. Whatever the case may be, I won’t be pushing for their dear blankets to be making a final curtain call. Until such time I’ll just keep providing the same blankie, after being freshly washed, returning it to its rightful place on my boys’ beds. In the future when the blankie has been retired to the cupboard or met its demise we’ll just have to rely on love to be a virtual blanket.

You may find this kind of normal and a tad on the yawn side. If your child has an attachment to something unusual that you’d care to unveil drop a line or two in the box below.

I’m feeling the love for the soft, clean blankie.

Image from: here.

10 thoughts on “A Blanket of Love For You

  1. I have to say my three boys all had/have their blankies’ although the 15yr old would be mortified if he knew i admitted that in public.

    • Maybe it’s a boy thing. It reminds me of Linus from Snoopy/Charlie Brown. I think I’ll keep my boys’ blankets and give them to them when they have kids or on their 18th birthdays. Now that would be embarrassing so maybe not.

  2. My 18 year old still has his blankie and babies (there are two) and my 15 year old has his baby. His blankie was wrapped around their sister (Chloe, our first dog) when she was put down. I could not bare to have her unwrapped, so i had her and the blanket cremated together. I thought my son would have been upset, but no, he was happy she took his blankie with her. What the 18 year old is going to do when he goes away to college? i am thinking I will have two babies to take care of:) The blankie? Don’t know yet!

    • Does your 18 y.o still use it (have it on his bed)? Is it the same one from when he was little? Has it lasted that long? Maybe I should have bought a replica/replacement one for each as I can’t see their blankets lasting that distance.

  3. Mine had it into her teens and only gave it up because she got candle wax on it. Her grandmother crocheted it…so it was special.

    That I recall, I never had a blankie until I was in my 50s…I have two. One is completely for texture and coziness but can get “too warm”, quickly. The other is lighter weight for use on warmer days. My husband teases me about them…in a warm fuzzy way.

    I think like many things, the older you get…the more childlike characteristic you adopt.

    • Oh that is lovely and sad. Did you try to remove the candle wax at all or was it just the right time for your daughter to ‘give up’
      the blanket?
      I don’t remember having one as a child but my mum is now in her 60’s and has a blanket for comfort and warmth particularly during winter. I think I’ll adopt my boys’ blankets if they abandon them.
      I agree that there is definitely something about having cherished possessions particularly as one gets older and that they may resemble things or habits from childhood.
      Thank you for liking, commenting and following.

Care to share some love?

