I Love You Clever Clogs

I love it when you’re clever.

This is anything but an infintite waffle about how clever my kids are. It’s short, so read on if you love clogs.

There are many different ways to say, ‘I love you’ and I’ve covered a few on this blog so far. One of the other important things for me is for my kids to know, not just to hear, that I love them. Compliments are a great way to express that love using other words. When I use the expression ‘clever clogs’ I don’t mean it clogsin a condescending way. They’re not full of themselves and they don’t know everything. Heck, my kids don’t even know what clogs are. And how clever can a clog be anyway? It’s made out of wood.

When I use this expression the only thing that matters to them-the only word they hear-is clever. Whether it’s lil’ guys scribble picture, building a tower higher than the last or knowing the way to his brother’s classroom makes him clever in my book. And I’ll tell him so. He agrees of course because he’s already worked out that this is a good word. It’s a compliment or praise. It’s given in a certain tone of voice that he recognises as being a positive.

Even when when you’re in clogs,

And you resemble an elf.

I’ll tell you that I love you,

And I know you’re proud of yourself.

I think you’re pretty clever,

If I do say so myself.

I love you lots clever clogs!

Image from: here.

2 thoughts on “I Love You Clever Clogs

  1. very cute and a very sweet poem. i actually have a pair of real wooden Dutch clogs that were given to me when I was a little girl. ones does not see wooden clogs any more – the picture is adorable.

Care to share some love?

