I Love You at the Playground

playground fun, family, active, exercise, play

Oh for the love of playgrounds!

A visit to the local playground affords parents the chance to do many things.

When I’m at any playground with my two children I always try and ensure I do the following things:

  • be as excited about getting there as they are and remain enthusiastic throughout our time there
  • play with them. They might think I’m silly but it’s great for them to see adults (Mum, Dad, Nan, Grandpa, etc) acting like a big kid
  • help them with anything they’re not quite able to do on their own yet.
  • observe them and their interactions with each other and children they don’t know
  • I try to keep my phone in my bag unless it’s a call from my husband-work and everyone else can wait.

We visit a playground close to home at least once a week. We also frequent the school playground at least one afternoon after the bell goes. On weekends we will hunt down a new playground for the kids to explore. It’s pretty awesome to see their little eyes light up when we pull up at one we’ve never been to before especially if we don’t forewarn them.

A new playground to my kids is the equivalent of a trip to the lolly shop. Getting let loose to run, jump, slide, climb, crawl and swing causes a lot less cavaties and there’s no sugar high at the end of our visit. If anything they’ve burned off some excess energy that may have turned into a tantrum or foot stomping argument later on.

My nearest and dearest took mine to the playground this afternoon. I missed this outing but I used the time to do this post without interruptions. It’s great for Dad to share some time with his two boys. He even took our dog as the dog park is right next door. Quite frankly, I think he had an ulterior motive because he is a little tired of ‘watching’ me carry my laptop around like it’s a newborn. So mission accomplished on all fronts today and brownie points to hubby.

I’ll catch you at the playground of love tomorrow.

Image from: here.

4 thoughts on “I Love You at the Playground

    • Oh, gee. Shucks. I don’t know what to say (blushing).This is the first time I have received an award in the near-on 2 months I’ve been in Bloggersville. It might take me a little while to get all the details together but I will see this through. Thank you, Desiree, for your kind words and the nomination.

  1. Playgrounds are the best, even in the rain! (Slides go faster in the rain and there is less people.) Now that the older two are bigger (aged 6) and can do everything themselves, I also use it to take a little break and let them run free. Im there if they need me, and I watch to make sure they don’t trample anyone, but free play, away from mom is precious time to spread their wings too. 🙂

    • I’m more of a fairweather friend of playgrounds but will definitely let my boys have a go on a rainy day after your comment. They’d thank you for that. Once my youngest is more independent I can see my favourite spot at the playground being the bench especially when they won’t want me playing with them so much anymore. My eldest is already making noises about the fact that playgrounds are not for adults. I just tell him that I put my ‘kid hat’ on when we get there.

Care to share some love?

