I Love You Up Hill and Down Dale

hill and dale

I’d climb every mountain-that’s how much I love you.

WARNING: the following contains references to The Sound of Music so if you’re not a fan it’s probably best if you scroll down to the next post. If you are an avid lover of everything related to the Von Trapp’s I’ll apologise now for my attempt at humour.

My boys, husband and I love where we live. We have nature on our doorstep and a view of hills and trees that we try to remember to stop and notice out of the picture windows at the back of our home.

Our hills aren’t alive with the sound of music though. Not unless you count the neighbours across the paddock blaring out, ‘you shook me all night long’ from the truck’s cab when he gets home from work. Then again, we do have kookaburras that frequent our yard, no traffic noise to speak of and the rooster up the hill that Master 2 refers to as the cockle coo.

We don’t sing and dance our way through long grass on hilltops. We race to the top instead and roll down the hill like tumbleweed.

I don’t have any girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes at my humble abode but I do have:

Boys who love digging and playing with trains

Trucks by the boxful and shirts full of stains

Loud little voices and a toddler who clings

These are a few of my favourite things!

And please don’t ask me to sing it. The closest I come to being like Maria is that my middle name is Marie.

Until the sun rises tomorrow: so long, farewell, Aufwiedersehen, goodbye! Luv ya lots.

Image from: here.

10 thoughts on “I Love You Up Hill and Down Dale

  1. Did you take that picture? The colors are simply stunning!!!

    We have some neighbors across the woods from us that play music pretty loud. Sometimes I pretend its the animals in the forest rockin’ out. Sometimes I let my rooster out a little earlier in the morning to give us some REAL music. ; )

    • I can’t take credit for the picture. Sorry to disappoint. There’s a link at the bottom of my post, ‘Image from here’ that you will take you to the source. We have sheep in the paddock that is behind our back fence. I’m sure they don’t mind a bit of ACDC. I know some people get annoyed with roosters but I really enjoy their morning wake up call. It’s better than the alarm beeping in your ear.

    • Thank you so much. I’m sure your singing would beat mine hands down. Edelweiss is beautiful. I normally get requests for the Scarecrow song and Master 2 doesn’t seem to mind a bit that his mum is tone deaf or close to it. It was lovely of you to stop by and take the time to comment.

Care to share some love?

