I Love You When You’re Smiling

I love it when you smile.

When you’re smiling, when you’re smiling, the whole world smiles with you!

Well, maybe not the whole world but I definitely do.

I find myself smiling just by thinking about my kids’ smiles. There’s something about it that is more endearing than that of an adults. It’s probably because kids smile with their whole face. Unless they’re trying to hide the gap/s in their teeth while having school photos taken. Even when one of my two have their grumpy pants on I can normally coax a smile out of them by telling them I can see a smile creeping out of the corner of their mouth or by saying in a stern voice, ‘don’t smile!’

The subject of smiling also reminded me of this poem:

smiley facesSmiling is contagious,
you catch it like the flu,
When someone smiled at me today,
I started smiling too.
I passed around the corner,
and someone saw my grin –
When he smiled I realized,
I’d passed it on to him.

I thought about that smile,
then I realized its worth,
A single smile, just like mine,
could travel round the earth.
So, if you feel a smile begin,
don’t leave it undetected –
Let’s start an epidemic quick
and get the world infected!!!

Matthew John Fraser (1990)

I also love the fact that there are different kinds of smiles. There’s the:

  • cheeky monkey smile
  • I-didn’t-do-it smirk
  • oh-my-goodness (open mouth and raised eyebrows) smile
  • aren’t-I-cute pleading grin
  • I’m proud of you beam
  • grin like a Cheshire Cat (Alice in Wonderland)
  • and many more.

I hope you’ve shared a smile with your kids today. I know I have. If you haven’t, Don’t Worry, Be Happy and share one or more with them tomorrow.

Love your smiles!

Image from: here.

2 thoughts on “I Love You When You’re Smiling

Care to share some love?

